RSS

Ignore the Inner Critic and Embrace the Inner Muse

25 Jun
Ignore the Inner Critic and Embrace the Inner Muse

exactly what i do…

She Writes With Love

writing

I have this horrific habit of being something of a perfectionist. It’s just part of being a Virgo. While writing I type, delete, type, adjust, delete, type some more, then delete the whole paragraph. It’s a tortuous cycle and lately, it’s the reason my word count hasn’t progressed much and I’ve been in such a writing slump. I focus so much on making every sentence, piece of dialogue, word choice, etc perfect that writing loses all its fun. Back before I cared so much about getting it right and about what other people would think, words poured from my fingertips in a steady stream of not quite brilliance, but at least a solid story. That was before I had the nagging little critic on my shoulder poking me with a stick and saying, “This sucks! You suck! What are you even doing??” He’s not a very nice companion to have while writing…

View original post 392 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
